Search This Blog

About Paulo Coelho

PAULO COELHO was born in 1947 in the city of Rio de Janeiro. Before dedicating his life completely to literature, he worked as theatre director and actor, lyricist and journalist. In 1986, PAULO COELHO did the pilgrimage to Saint James of Compostella, an experience later to be documented in his book The Pilgrimage. In the following year, COELHO published The Alchemist. Slow initial sales convinced his first publisher to drop the novel, but it went on to become one of the best selling Brazilian books of all time. 

Paulo Coelho A Warriors Life Books 

During the months of March, April, May and June 2006, Paulo Coelho traveled to celebrate the 20th anniversary of his pilgrimage to Saint James of Compostella in 1986. He also held surprise book signings - announced one day in advance - in some cities along the way, to have a chance to meet his readers.

In ninety days of pilgrimage the author traveled around the globe and took the famous Transiberrian train that took him to Vladivostok. During this experience Paulo Coelho launched his blog Walking the Path - The Pilgrimage in order to share with his readers his impressions. Since this first blog Paulo Coelho has expanded his presence in the internet with his daily blogs in Wordpress, Myspace & Facebook. He is equally present in media sharing sites such as Youtube and Flickr, offering on a regular basis not only texts but also videos and pictures to his readers.

From this intensive interest and use of the Internet sprang his bold new project: The Experimental Witch where he invites his readers to adapt to the screen his book The Witch of Portobello. Indeed Paulo Coelho is a firm believer of Internet as a new media and is the first Best-selling author to actively support online free distribution of his work.

Books Written:1974 The Manifest of Krig-há
1974 Theater For Education
1982 Hell Archives
1986 Practical Manual of Vampirism
1988 The Pilgrimage
1988 The Alchemist
1990 Brida
1991 The Greatest Gift
1992 The Valkyries
1994 Maktub
By the River Piedra I Sat Down and Wept
1996 The Fifth Mountain
1997 Love Letters from a Prophet
The Manual of the Warrior of Light
1998 Veronika Decides to Die
Essential Words
2000 The Devil and Miss Prym
2001 Fathers, Sons and Grandsons
2003 Eleven Minutes
2004 And on the Seventh Day (collection of the novels By the River Piedra I Sat Down and Wept, Veronika Decides to Die and The Devil and Miss Prym)
The Genie and the Roses
2005 The Zahir
Revived Paths
2006 Like the Flowing River
The Witch of Portobello
2007 Life: Selected Quotations
2008 The Winner Stands Alone
2010 Aleph